Antique Bikes on Main-A Pictorial (mostly)

Antique Bikes on Main-Chesnee, South Carolina

001

 Do you like antique and vintage motorcycles? I do. Not to own (they can be money pits), but to ogle, to imagine their place in history, to listen to the sound of their ancient engines and smell their exhaust, to appreciate the mechanical art these machines embody. The large venues that showcase beautiful, fully restored motorbikes such as seen at           Barber Motorsports Museum are great, but there is a nostalgia associated with down home, small town bike shows with restored and “as is” machines lined up and down Main Street.

So it was on the last day of July, I hopped on the little cafe retro Suzuki TU250 and rode 50 miles to the one stoplight town of Chesnee, South Carolina for the 12th annual Antique Bikes on Main vintage motorcycle show.

Main Street, Chesnee, South Carolina

 Family friendly too! The amusement park arena

A funny thing happened on the way ………..

As I parked the Cafe TU, a regular Joe dressed in plaid Bermuda’s and a polo shirt, walked across the street to me and said: “That’s a small bike for here.” I was fiddling with my camera, looked up and said, “Pardon?” “That’s a small bike for here” he repeated as he walked around the diminutive (to him) Suzuki for the second time, as if studying every detail. “For here?” I said. “What does that mean, a small bike for here?” “Well, it’s a small bike. Most men ride big bikes.” “Really?” I said. “What big bike do you ride?” “Oh, well, I’m between bikes right now.” Ahhhh. The infamous “I’m between bikes” statement. We’ve all heard that before. “But I like the style you made with it. Looks cool for a small bike. Enjoy your day.” And he walked on. Hmmm. Very strange.

The bike that’s too small for here, (according to one)

028

On with the bike show!

036

How about a few of these? 

039

(and one BSA)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  Now here’s a bike that might be construed as too small for here ………………

(OK. I’m letting it go)

Speaking of Honda….the iconic CB series (a Suzuki crashed the picture)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 An original Indian Scout

The Vintage off-roadies

Live music too, playing what else? Southern Rock of course!

Beautiful vintage iron everywhere!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This guy must be a Ford man

002

Is that the original Triumph Tiger? Tony the Tiger says so……

003

Back on the little Suzuki Cafe TU and I’m heading home. Vintage bikes always make me feel like riding a modern retro, small motorbike. I’m smiling in my helmet.

Hope y’all enjoyed the show.

4 thoughts on “Antique Bikes on Main-A Pictorial (mostly)

  1. “Most men ride big bikes”?!… What the hell sort of comment is that, especially from a plaid-n-polo, non-riding stranger outta the blue?

    I’ll tell ya, nothin’ screams hooliganism like a smoke- and racket-belching, vintage, two-stroke Vespa, and if those aren’t “small” bikes, I don’t know what is (small bikes with big attitudes). I’d love to add one of them to the stable, but nothing restored: one with road rash and rust and wear-and-tear. Oh, yeah!

    • Smoke and racket, belching, vintage two stoke Vespa! I love it! If you get one, be sure you are dressed in appropriate Scooterist attire when you ride! (-:
      Thanks for commenting!

Care to comment? We'd enjoy hearing from you!

